The penny drops

Where to get financial help if you’re disabled

September 6, 2021

For people living with a disability, their condition can often affect them financially, as well as physically or mentally. While there’s support available for those that need it, with so many benefits and information out there, it can be confusing to work out what you might be entitled to and how to apply. On this episode Andrea Fox joins the MS Society’s Benefits Advisor, Bez Ely, and Head of Policy, Phillip Anderson, to discuss how having a disability can impact someone financially and how to find the right support.

How can you find more information?

Royal London recommends you seek professional independent financial advice before making financial decisions. You can learn more about the value of financial advice on our website.

You can also find lots of helpful information on financial support and disability on the following sites:

Information on benefits

Citizens Advice: www.citizensadvice.org.uk/benefits
Money Helper: www.moneyhelper.org.uk/en/benefits
GOV.UK: www.gov.uk/browse/benefits

Benefits and grants entitlement

Turn2us Benefits Calculator: benefits-calculator-2.turn2us.org.uk
Turn2us Grants Search: grants-search.turn2us.org.uk

Benefits appeals

GOV.UK: www.gov.uk/appeal-benefit-decision

Employee rights

ACAS: www.acas.org.uk/advice

Support for travel

Motability: www.motability.org.uk
Blue Badge Scheme: www.gov.uk/blue-badge-scheme-information-council
Disabled Persons Railcard: www.disabledpersons-railcard.co.uk

Useful helplines

MS Society: www.mssociety.org.uk/care-and-support/ms-helpline
Citizens Advice: www.citizensadvice.org.uk/about-us/contact-us
Scope: www.scope.org.uk/helpline
Disability Law Service: dls.org.uk/free-advice

MS Society resources

Financial help: www.mssociety.org.uk/care-and-support/financial-help
Fact sheets and booklets: www.mssociety.org.uk/care-and-support/resources-and-publications

This episode was recorded in July 2021 during the coronavirus outbreak. For the latest information on financial support and benefits, visit gov.uk/coronavirus.

Please note that all topics discussed in this episode can vary depending on your personal circumstances. Any figures quoted were accurate at the time of recording.

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App